The House of Representatives of people

The Parliament of Equatorial Guinea

The Parliament of Equatorial Guinea or the House of Representatives of the People is the highest legislative body of the Republic of Equatorial Guinea and is formed by one hundred representatives that represent the different ideas and political trends that exist in the country. These representatives are chosen for a period of five years through universal, direct and secret suffrage, within the framework established in the Constitution of the Country.

According to Article 70 of the Constitution of the Republic of Equatorial Guinea, the House of Representatives of the People meets twice a year in the month of March and in September, for a maximum time of two months per period.

Article 71states that “the House of Representatives of the People can meet in extraordinary sessions to deal with a certain Agenda at the request of the President of the Republic or at the request of three-fourths of its members. In order to hold sessions, the attendance of half plus one of the Representatives of the People is required and the agreements are made by simple majority of votes of those present”. The debates of the House of the Representatives of the People are public. The Parliament has headquarters in Malabo and in Bata.

At present and as a result of the last legislative elections of May 4, 2008, the Democratic Party of Equatorial Guinea (PDGE), founded and presided over by the Head of State H.E. Obiang Nguema Mbasogo along with other allied groups, occupies 99 of the 100 seats of the Parliament. The seat of the opposition belongs to the party Convergence for Social Democracy (CPDS-acronym in Spanish) and is held by the Secretary-General of this party, Mr. Placido Micó.

The current President of the House of Representatives of the People is Mr. Ángel Serafín Seriche Dougan, while Mr. Lucas Nguema Esono-Mbang holds the First Vice Presidency and Mrs.  Evangelina Oyo Ebule, the Second Vice Presidency.

Some duties of the Parliament

  • To elect from among its members its President, the Vice Presidents and the Board.
  • To issue its own regulations.
  • To approve the Budget Law on income, expenses and investments of the State.
  • To determine the bases of civil, commercial, procedural, criminal and labor law.
  • To regulate the fundamental rights and public liberties.
  • To call into question the members of the Government on matters of their competence and make them appear before the House of Representatives of the People in order to explain their general policy or a specific subject under their responsibility.
  • To name from its members commissions to investigate any matter in which the public interest is vested. These commissions have free access to all the departments of the Administration, except for State secrets.


| Friday, 23. June 2017 || Designed by: LernVid.com |